Brendan lee

Published Works  

The published works of brendan lee

Bogan Proof Fences

Bogan Proof Fences tells the story of the rise and fall of a housing development on the outer rim of Melbourne. Unravelling over a forty year period and set between 1978 and 2008, the ghosts of scrupulous developers haunt the aspirational families who only want the best that the 'Lucky Country' can offer.

Told from the perspectives of three locals - considered outsiders - Bogan Proof Fences humorously defines the historical foundations of what are termed Larrikins, Bogans and Hoons. The seventies was a time of optimism for the land prospectors of the outer western regions. Every trick in the book is used to lure young families into the freshly minted sub-divisions - from lion safari parks to naming streets and courts after birds - yet all this development comes at a cost. 


Ignorant Bliss

Ignorant Bliss follows the daily rituals of Jaymee, a good-for-nothing bludger, just like his freeloading parents, who lied, stole and cheated a life of leisure until they got off their backsides and died out on the highway. To Jaymee's Nan, the sight of him reminds her of his no-hoper parents and the unanswered question of why they would attempt to leave town for good. Ignorant Bliss is an allegorical tale of a dystopian future where the easy-going lifestyle can have explosive consequences. 

It’s 2025 and life in Winfield West is as good as it gets. Winnie West – as the locals like to call it – is the perfect place to live: an isolated town where drink-driving is the norm, footy teams prefer to slog it out with their fists than with a ball, and littering is a natural part of urban beautification. The inhabitants wouldn’t have it any other way … but self-determination and the Great Australian Dream aren’t all they’re cracked up to be.